top of page

Democrats continue to stand by Madigan

Reps. support corrupt leader in key question of first vote

Voters rejected Democratic House Speaker Mike Madigan and his corrupt inner circle in the November election, but up to 54 Democratic State Representatives remain firm in their support of their embattled leader.

Federal prosecutors recently indicted four members of Madigan’s inner circle but Democratic State Representatives continue to support the status quo by maintaining Madigan’s nearly 40-year control of state government. Yesterday, Democrats on the Special Investigatory Committee tasked with seeking the truth about Madigan’s role in the ComEd bribery scandal closed out the committee. Madigan repeatedly refused to testify in his own defense.

Madigan remains one of the least popular public officials in the state, consistently earning under 20% favorability in key districts held by Democrats.

Rep-Elect Janet Yang Rohr (41st District)

Madigan Favorability: 10%

Survey Date: July 20-22, 2020

Rep-Elect Maura Hirschauer (49th District)

Madigan Favorability: 12%

Survey Date: August 18 - 20, 2020

Rep-Elect Suzanne Ness (66th District)

Rep-Elect David Vella (68th District)

Madigan Favorability: 16%

Survey Date: August 17-19, 2020

Rep. Mike Halpin (72nd District)

Rep. Sue Scherer (96th District)

Madigan Favorability: 16%

Survey Date: December 14, 2020

Rep. Katie Stuart (112th District)

Madigan Favorability: 19%

Survey Date: August 15-17,2020

“Voters sent Democrats a clear message in November. They don’t want the higher taxes promised by Democrats, and they won’t continue to tolerate the corrupt leadership of ‘Public Official A’ Mike Madigan,” said Jayme Odom, Executive Director of the House Republican Organization. “After investigations, indictments, and arrests for bribery, ghost payrolling, sexual harassment, and even allegations of a rape cover-up, there’s no looking back. Democratic legislators have an opportunity to do the right thing, and join Republicans in choosing new leadership for the State of Illinois.”


bottom of page